Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/585
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.585 - June 1991


DescriptionMinutes of the 585th Meeting of the Commission
Content NoteTopics covered:

Apologies for absence were reported from Sir Derek Day

Welcome to His Excellency The Hon George Gair and His Excellency Mr Kent Durr, Brigadier Bhubal Malik, Mr A I Johnson and Mr Stevens

Appointment of Secretary and Director General
The Commission decided to recommend to the President that he should appoint Mr David Kennedy tobe secretary and Director-General from 1 January 1993.

Minutes of the 584th Meeting of the Commission and Matters Arising From The Minutes
Circulation of minutes

Woodgrange Park Cemetery
Mr Reddie reports the latest position concerning Woodgrange Park Cemetery. The Promoters have agreed that all burials would be exhumed, in accordance with govermnent regulations. The Secretary states that an outright objection to the case on the principle of non disturbance would not be advisible, and a compromise would be preferable.

Forcast of Outturn
Mr Kennedy discusses the accounts from the year 1991-92.

Commonwealth War Graves Commission Superannuation Scheme (1952) Valuation of the Fund as at 31 March 1990 and Benefit Structure
The Secretary presents the paper. The Trustees had drawn attention to a significant weakness in the provisions in the current scheme and proposed that the oppertunity be taken to improve benefits, whilst still providing for a substancial reduction in the Commission's contributions. A 1/60 scheme was usual in today's market and would be a attraction to the recruitment and rentention of staff. This would take effect from 1 April 1992. Also to take effect was a reduction in what the Commission contributed, which will go from 32.5% to 17.2%.

Appointment to Finance Committee
The Commission appoints Air Chielf Marshal Sir Joseph Gilbert KCB CBE with effect from 1 July 1991.

Appointment to the South African Agency
The Commission takes note of the appointment of Mr I P de Swardt with effect from 29 January 1991.

Ninth Meeting of the Commonwealth-French Joint Committee
The Chairman states the meeting was productive and took place in an atmosphere of mutal regard.

Commonwealth-Foreign Joint Committees: Appointment of Members
The Commission took note of three appointments

Execution of Documents
The Commission took note of the execution of documents on its behalf

Tours by Commissioners and Head Office Senior Officials
The Chairman spoke of his recent visit to Crete and attendance to the Ceremony of Remembrance at Suda Bay War Cemetery. The Secretary spoke of the President's visit to the France Area Headquarters in Beaurains. Mr Concannon spoke of his participation on behalf of the Commission at the Anzac Day ceremony at the Cannock Chase War Cemetery.

Any Other Business
War Graves Agreement with the Federal Republic of Germany
The Secretary steates that the War Graves Agreements with the Federal Republic of Germany covered the whole of reunified Germany.

Captain Sir Miles Wingate
The Chairman announces that this will be the last meeting attended by Sir Miles Wingate.

Major-General Desmond Smith
The Chairman reports that this will also be the last meeting for Major-General Desmond Smith.

Brigadier-General Curleigh
The Chairman reports that Brigadier Curleigh will be retiring before the next meeting.

New Commissioners
The Chairman reports the appointment of two new members of the Commission. Viscount Ridley had been appointed from 1 July 1991 to replace Captain Sir Miles Wingate. Professor O'Neill had been appointed from 1 August 1991, to replace Major-General Smith.

General Sir Robert Ford GCB CBE (Vice-Chairman of the Commission)
His Excellency Mr Richard J Smith (High Commissioner for Australia)
His Excellency Mr Kent Durr (The Ambassador of the Rupublic of South Africa)
His Excellency the Hon George Gair (High Commissioner for New Zealand)
Captain Sir Miles Wingate KCVO
Major General Desmond Smith CBE DSO CD
The RT Hon J D Concannon
Dame Janet Fookes DBE MP
Sir Nigel Mobbs DL
Admiral Sir Nicholas Hunt GCB LVO
Air Chief Marshal Sir Joseph Gilbert KCB CBE
Mr J M Stewart (Representing the Secretary of State for Defence in the United Kingdom)
Mr R. G. S. Johnson (Representing the Secretary of State for the Environment in the United Kingdom)
Brigadier-General C M Curleigh CMM CD (Representing the High Commissioner for Canada)
Brigadier B S Malik (Representing the High Commissioner for India)

Professor Sir Peter Shepheard CBE BArch PPRIBA MRTPI PPILA (Honorary Artistic Advisor)
Professor G T Prance MA DPhil FLS (Honary Botanical Advisor)

Mr J. Saynor JP, Director-General

Mr A I Johnson, Cheif Actuary, UK Government Actuary Department
Mr D Stevens, Manager, National Monuments and War Graves, New Zealand
Mr D Kennedy, Assistant Secretary, Deputy Director-General (Administration)
Mr N B Osborne OBE FRICS, Assistant Secretary, Deputy Director-General (Operations)
Mr G.C. Reddie, Legal Adviser and Solicitor
Mr T.F. Penfold, Director of Personnel
Mr A. Coombe, Director of Works
Mr R D Wilson ACMA, Director of Finance
Mr J.P.D. Gee, Director of Information and Secretariat
Mr G. Campbell-Dykes, Higher Executive Officer (Secretariat)
Miss E Kennedy, Secretariat
Date12/6/1991 - 12/6/1991
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items

    Showcase items

    Explore some of our main archive collections below