Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/558
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.558 - September 1984


DescriptionMinutes of the 558th Meeting of the Commission.
Content NoteTopics covered:

South African Ambassador
Welcome to Mr Davies, representing South African Ambassador for the first time.
Welcome to Mr McGee, succeeding Mr Walker.

Mr Dennis Worrall appointed Ambassador of the Republic of South Africa and a Commissioner; Shri Prakash Mehrotra appointed High Commissioner in London for the Republic of India, and a Commissioner; the Honourable George Hees appointed Canadian Minister of Veterans Affairs and the Commission's Canadian Agent; and Mr CW van Niekerk appointed Deputy Director-General of the Department of Public Works and Land Affairs, and Chairman of the South African Agency.

Honours and Awards
Sir Ewen Broadbent had been appointed a Knight Commander of the Order of Bath; Mr Ronald Clothier, Administrative Officer France Area, had been appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire; Mr Hassan Moullem of Damascus War Cemetery had been awarded the British Empire Medal.

Commissariato General Onoranze Caduti in Guerra
General di Corpo d'Armata Pietro Tolomeo, Commissioner General of the Commissariato General Onoranze Caduti in Guerra, had retired. He was succeeded by Generali di Corpo d'Armata Ferruccio Brandi.
Matters arising from the 557th Meeting
Ten members of staff had retained the old system of overseas remuneration, six were expected to retire soon.
Implementation of computer system for pensions and pay.
Locally engaged staff in France to be paid through a computer system and a French Bureau, note of savings.
Comments about the not-recommended reburial of Jewish War Dead in Israel had been passed on.
Mr Richard Luce, British Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, soon to visit Burma. Aide-memoire about threats to Rangoon War Cemetery to be delivered to the Burmese Government after the visit.
Annual Report 1983/84 and Statement of Accounts
Comments and draft report received; accounts presented in vertical format to increase clarity; detail of balances carried forward; increased expenditure reflected inflation, and horticultural and structural maintenance.
Replies to Mr Robertson, headstones for Lebanon, savings from re-organisation of the Eastern Mediterranean Area and of mobile horticultural groups in France and North West Europe.

Report of the 598th Meeting of the Finance Committee
Detail and cost of works to Thiepval Memorial, France.
Report of Appointments to Senior Grades.

Graves Not Within The Commission’s Control
Discussion about graves not within the Commission's control, including family graves and those unmaintainable.
Consideration of a Garden of Remembrance at Brookwood or Harrogate (Stonefall). Decision to stay with local parish commemoration.

Burials and Commemorations
Erection of commemorative headstones, at Port Elizabeth Cemetery, Cape Town, South Africa, approved.
Exhumation of 48 war burials from Tamale Cemeteries and re-interment in Christiansborg War Cemetery, Accra, Ghana, approved.
Exhumation of two war burials from Selondi European Cemetery and re-interment in Takoradi Cemetery, Ghana, approved.

Membership of the South African Agency
Explanation of membership of the South African Agency, Mr JL Viljoen to succeed Mr JR Mostert.

Commonwealth-Foreign Joint Committees: Appointment of Members
Commonwealth-Japanese Joint Commttee:
Mr Itaru Umezu (Director, Second West-Europe Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Mr Atsup Yamaguchi (Director, National Property Inspection Division, Ministry of Finance)
Commonwealth-Netherlands Joint Committee:
Mr M de Bruijne (Queen's Commissioner in the Province of Gelderland)

Schedule of Documents Executed By Or On The Commission’s Behalf Of The Commission Between 22 May and 31 August 1984
Mention that documents, serial numbers 590-593 and 231-232, referred to in the Schedule laid before the meeting and signed for identification by the Commission's Legal Adviser and Solicitor.

Tours by Commissioners and Commission Officials
Sir David Maitland and Lady McFarlene had toured in France and Belgium, comments on staff, health and safety legislation, and new mobile groups.
Professor Bell, General Sir Robert Ford, Sir Edward Goschen, Sir Donald Maitless and Mr Young had visited Australia, Denmark, Italy, Japan and Crete.
The Secretary had visited Austria and Italy, and had linked with the Commissariato General Onoranze Caduti in Guerra and diplomats in Rome.

Report of 40th anniversary liberation ceremonies, and an event at Thiepval.
Recovery of gardeners' quarters at Beersheba War Cemetery.
Discussion about commemorations on Brookwood Memorial, for men who had been judicially executed; property at Ieper to be inspected.
Possible base for mobile groups, painters and blacksmith.
Sir Edward Broadbent to retire.
Mr Robinson attending his last meeting, mention of Geneva, Australia, Rome, Australian War Graves.

Air Chief Marshal Sir John Barraclough KCB CBE DFC AFC FRSA (Vice-Chairman of the Commission) in the Chair
Sir Ewen Broadbent KCB CMG (Representing the Secretary of State for Defence)
Mr R A Gomme (Representing the Minister for Housing and Construction)
Mr A N Lever (Representing the High Commissioner for Canada)
Mr R H Robertson (Representing the High Commissioner for the Commonwealth of Australia)
His Excellency The Honourable William L Young (High Commissioner for New Zealand)
Mr R J Davies (Representing the Ambassador of the Republic of South Africa)
Brigadier S Nambiar Vr C (Representing the High Commissioner for the Republic of India)
The Lord Wallace of Coslany
Sir Edward Goschen Bt DSO
General Sir Robert Ford GCB CBE
Sir David Muirhead KCMG CVO
Sir Donald Maitland GCMG OBE
Professor The Baroness McFarlane of Llandaff

Mr Peter Scott BSc FICE (Honorary Consultant Engineer)
Professor E A Bell PhD FLS CChem FRSC (Honorary Botanical Adviser)

Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG (Director-General)
Also in attendance:
Mr P R Matthew (Assistant Secretary, Deputy Director-General)
Mr R J Saynor JP (Assistant Secretary, Assistant Director-General (Administration))
Mr W J Symons OBE (Assistant Secretary, Assistant Director-General (Operations))
Mr R H Westland MIPM (Establishment Officer)
Mr P H M Swan (Director of External Relations)
Mr J B Paton NDH (Director of Horticulture)
Mr N B Osborn ARICS (Director of Works)
Mr G C Reddie (Legal Adviser and Solicitor)
Mr S G Campbell MC (Director of Information and Secretariat)
Mr M S Johnson ACMA (Chief Finance Officer)
Mr S A Walker (Secretariat)
Mr B P McGee

Apologies were reported from Sir Edward Gardner, Admiral Sir David Williams and Professor Sir Peter Shepheard.
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items

    Showcase items

    Explore some of our main archive collections below