Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/552
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.552 - March 1983


DescriptionMinutes of the 552nd Meeting of the Commission
Content NoteTopics covered:

Canadian, New Zealand and Indian Representatives
Welcome to Mr Lever and Colonel Masih, who were representing for the first time the Canadian and Indian High Commissioners respectively, and Mr Wood representing the New Zealand High Commissioner for the first time at a Commission meeting.

New Year’s Honours List
Announcement that a Knighthood had been conferred upon Mr Edward Gardner, and that Mr Symons had been appointed an OBE in the New Year's Honours List.

Chairman of the Commission
The Chairman mentioned he had written to Sir John Nott to thank him for his interest in the Commission’s work and that he and the Director-General would be visiting Mr Heseltine, the new Chairman.

Canadian High Commissioner
The Chairman informed members that Mr Jamieson, the new Canadian High Commissioner, would be paying a visit to Head Office the following month.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Australia
The Chairman reported that following the recent General Election in Australia Senator Arthur Gietzelt had become the Minister for Veterans' Affairs in succession to Senator Messner.

Announcement of the death in November of Mr Hughues Lapointe who, as Minister of Veterans Affairs from 1950-57, had been the Commission's Agent in Canada, and the deaths of 4 members of staff in service: in Iraq, Mr Hanoufi Ihtayyif Moosa, a gardener; and in France MM. Cappe and Odorowski, both gardeners, and M. Dubois, a works craftsman.

Matters Arising from the Minutes of the 551st Meeting
Update on the condition of Cemeteries in Lebanon.
Update on British Burials and Memorial in the Falkland Islands.
Update on the Threat to Cemeteries in Libya.
Update on the War Graves Agreement with the German Democratic Republic.

Organisation – Mediterranean and Middle East
Approval of changes to the Organisation in the Mediterranean and Middle East, where responsibility for Tunisia and Algeria be transferred from the Western Mediterranean Area to North Africa Area, and for Morocco to Outer Area. Responsibility for Sites at Macedonia, Gallipoli and Iraq would be transferred from Eastern Mediterranean Area to Outer Area.

The CWGC Superannuation Scheme (1952) - Transfer Arrangements
Proposal of changes to the CWGC Superannuation Scheme (1952) Transfer Arrangements where the Commission consents to transfer of superannuation benefits between the Scheme and both public and private sector schemes approved for transfer purposes by the United Kingdom Commissioners of Inland Revenue and by the Trustees of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission Superannuation Scheme (1952).

Approval of the Report of the 593rd Meeting of the Finance Committee
Item 4 of the Report was to revise the delegation of powers to the Secretary and Director-General authorised by the Commission each March.

Authorisation for Execution of Documents
Adoption of changes to the Authorisation for Execution of Documents.

Note taken of Annual Report of Exhumation and Re-interments: 1982.

Graves Not Within The Commission’s Control – Republic of South Africa
Approval of the classification as 'not within the Commission's control' of war graves numbers 621 to 741, on the Schedules for the Republic of South Africa.

Commonwealth-Foreign Joint Committees: Appointment of Members
Commonwealth-Belgian Joint Committee:
His Excellency Mr E Gonsalves (Indian Ambassador, Brussels)
Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG - with effect from 11 October 1982 (Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission)
Commonwealth-French Joint Committee:
His Excellency Mr P C J Curtis (Australian Ambassador, Paris)
Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG - with effect from 11 October 1982 (Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission)
Commonwealth-German-French Joint Committee:
Generalmajor a D Horst Niemack (President, Ring Deutscher Soldatenverbunde (Federation of German Ex-Servicemen's Associations)
Herr Eduard Hasskamp (President, Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgraberfursorge (German War Graves Commission)
Dr Oskar Schroder (Assistant Under Secretary of State Ministry for Youth, Family and Health) Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG - with effect from 11 October 1982 (Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission)
Commonwealth-Italian Joint Committee:
Lord Bridges KCMG (British Ambassador, Rome)
Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG - with effect from 11 October 1982 (Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission)
Commonwealth-Netherlands Joint Committee:
Mr I Verkade (Secretary-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG - with effect from 11 October 1982 (Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission)

Execution of Documents
Confirmation of the action for the execution by the Commission or on its behalf of the documents Serial No Part I 581 and Part 11 202 to 203, referred to in the Schedule laid before the meeting.

Summary of Tours by Head Office Officials, including comments from the Secretary on his visits to Egypt and areas of the United Kingdom, and recent visits to India, Kenya, and South Africa.

Diary Update
Including a report on condition of headstones at Christiansborg Cemetery, and a report about the reburial of 51 soldiers found near La Boisselle on the Somme.

Other Business
Including a note that the Commission's President would be visiting sites in Gallipoli and Egypt during the week beginning 22 May.

Air Chief Marshal Sir John Barraclough KCB CBE DFC AFC FRSA (Vice-Chairman of the Commission) in the Chair
Mr E. Broadbent CB CMG (Representing the Secretary of State for Defence)
Mr M. Coulshed (Representing the Minister for Housing and Construction)
Mr A. Lever (Representing the High Commissioner for Canada)
Mr R.H. Robertson (Representing the High Commissioner for Australia)
Mr B.C. Wood (Representing the High Commissioner for New Zealand)
Mr L.H. Evans (Representing the Ambassador of South Africa)
Lt Col A.B. Masih (Representing the High Commissioner for India)
Miss Joan Woodgate CBE RRC
Sir John Winnifrith KCB
Sir Edward Gardner QC MP
Lord Wallace of Coslany
Sir Edward Goschen Bt DSO
Sir David Muirhead KCMG CVO

Sir Arthur Hockaday KCB CMG (Director-General)

Mr Peter Scott BSc FICE (Honorary Consultant Engineer)
Professor Sir Peter Shepheard CBE BArch PPRIBA MRTPI PPILA (Honorary Artistic Adviser)

There were also present:
Mr A.S. Laing CBE MVO (Assistant Secretary, Deputy Director-General)
Mr P.R. Matthew (Assistant Secretary, Assistant Director-General (Operations))
Mr J. Saynor (Assistant Secretary, Assistant Director-General (Administration))
Mr N.B. Osborn ARICS (Director of Works)
Mr J.B. Paton NDH (Director of Horticulture)
Mr P.H.M. Swan (Director of External Relations)
Mr G. C. Reddie (Legal Adviser and Solicitor)
Mr S.G. Campbell MC (Director of Information Services)
Mr H. Westland MIPM (Establishment Officer)
Mr W.J. Symons OBE (Chief Finance Officer)
Mr D. Kennedy (Director Outer Area)
Mr T.F. Penfold (Organisation and Audit Officer)
Mr J.P. Gee (Secretariat)
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items