Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/500
File NumberCM 3/1/168
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.500 - March 1970


DescriptionMinutes of the 500th Meeting of the Commission
Content NoteAn audio recording of the Commission Meeting is catalogued as CWGC/1/2/D/1/88.

Topics covered:

Nomination of His Royal Highness The Duke of Kent as President of the Commission.

Matters Arising from the 499th Meeting of the Commission
Report on the re-organisation of the Commission’s Administrative Areas, standardisation of administrative procedures, transfer of Western Mediterranean Area Office to new premises and appeal for planning permission to build a new Head Office at Maidenhead; report on the removal of remains from Baghdad (Right Bank) Indian Forces War Cemetery to Baghdad (North Gate) War Cemetery.

Message to His Royal Highness The Duke of Gloucester
Copy of the letter sent from Members of the Commission to the Commission’s President expressing their appreciation for his service.

Report of the 540th Meeting of the Finance Committee
Arrangements for the appointment of the Vice-Chairman pending a review of the position; continuation of the usual delegated authority to the Secretary; discussion concerning the pay of United Kingdom based manual staff; report of Mr Pallot’s tour in the Eastern and Pacific Regions, which included visits to the Regional Headquarters at New Delhi, Calcutta, Imphal, Kohima and Hong Kong to discuss financial, administrative and organisation arrangements.

Membership of the Finance Committee
Appointment of the High Commissioner for New Zealand as a Member of the Finance Committee.

Commonwealth-Foreign Joint Committees
Appointment of Air Chief Marshal Sir Walter Cheshire as Commonwealth Official Member of the Commonwealth-Belgian Joint Committee; appointment of Monsieur Jacques Millot, Ministere de l’Interieur, as French Official Member, and Mr P. H. Viljoen, South African Embassy in London, and Sir Walter Cheshire as Commonwealth Official Members of the Commonwealth-French Joint Committee; appointment of Herr Karl-Gunther von Hase, German Ambassador in London, as German Honorary Member of the Commonwealth-German-French Joint Committee; appointment of Sir Edward Tomkins, United Kingdom Ambassador at The Hague, as Commonwealth Honorary Member, Mr B. L. C. Schiff, Secretary General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as Netherlands Official Member, and Mr R. W. Boswell, Australian Deputy High Commissioner in London, and Sir Walter Cheshire as Commonwealth Official Members of the Commonwealth-Netherlands Joint Committee.

Graves not within the Commission’s Control – United Kingdom
Approval of the classification of the 1,097 war graves enumerated in List No. 22 of war graves in the United Kingdom recommended for classification as “not within the Commission’s control”.

Unmaintainable Graves, United Kingdom: Hoton (St. Leonard) Churchyard, Leicestershire
Approval of the proposed commemoration of one Commonwealth war burial in Hoton (St. Leonard) Churchyard on a special memorial headstone, bearing a suitable superscription, to be erected in the Second World War plot in Loughborough (Leicester Road) Cemetery.

Execution of Documents
Serial Nos. Part I 400 and Part II 56 and 57.

Appointment of a Trustee of the Imperial War Graves Endowment Fund
Appointment of Air Chief Marshal Sir Walter Graemes Cheshire as a Trustee of the Imperial War Graves Endowment Fund.

Other Business
Resolution concerning the Commission’s appreciation of Admiral Sir Guy Grantham’s service as Vice-Chairman and summary of Sir Grantham’s response to Members of the Commission.

His Royal Highness The Duke of Kent GCMG GCVO (President of the Commission, in the Chair)
The Right Honourable Denis Healer NBE MP (Chairman of the Commission)
Admiral Sir Guy Grantham GCB CBE DSO (Vice-Chairman of the Commission)
Mr J. W. T. Pritchard (Representing the Minister of Public Building and Works)
His Excellency Mr Charles Ritchie MA DCL (High Commissioner for Canada)
His Excellency The Honourable Sir Alexander Downer KBE (High Commissioner for Australia)
His Excellency Sir Denis Blundell KBE (High Commissioner for New Zealand)
His Excellency Dr H. G. Luttig (Ambassador of the Republic of South Africa)
His Excellency Mr Apasaheb Pant (High Commissioner for India)
Brigadier S. A. Hasan TQA (Representing the High Commissioner for Pakistan)
General Sir John Anderson GBE KCB DSO
Sir Robert Black GCMG OBE
Colonel Sir Richard Glyn BART OBE TD DL MP
Miss Joan Woodgate CBE RRC
Air Chief Marshal Sir Walter Cheshire GBE KCB

Mr W. J. Chalmers CBE (Director-General)

Professor Lord Holford RA FRIBA MTPI DLitt (Honorary Artistic Adviser)

Also in attendance:
Lieutenant-Commander Richard Buckley MVO RN (Private Secretary to the Duke of Kent
Colonel C. F. Black CD (Canadian High Commission)
Mr F. C. Boyle (Australian High Commission)
Mr N. V. Farrell (New Zealand High Commission)
Mr P. H. Viljoen (South African Embassy)
Major-General Raj Batra (Indian High Commission)
Mr W. Wynne Mason MC ((Assistant Secretary) Director of External Relations and Records)
Mr A. K. Pallot ((Assistant Secretary) Director of Finance and Establishments)
Brigadier K. F. Daniell CBE BA (Director of Works)
Mr H. L. Simmons LLB (Legal Adviser and Solicitor)
Mr W. F. W. Harding OBE BSc (Hort.) (Chief Horticultural Officer)
Mr A. S. Laing MVO (Deputy Establishment Officer (Personnel))
Mr J. P. P. Smith (Private Secretary to Director-General)
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items