Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/464
File NumberCM 3/1/132
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.464 - October 1962


DescriptionMinutes of the 464th Meeting of the Commission
Content NoteTopics covered:

The Chairman welcomed Sir Guy Grantham, who had succeeded Admiral Sir John Edelsten as a Member of the Commission and was attending a meeting for the first time.

Matters arising from the Minutes of the 463rd Meeting
Discussion regarding the structural maintenance of the Thiepval Memorial; further request from the Chairman that participating Governments reply to the Commission’s proposals regarding the percentages of contributions and future financial arrangements; account of visit by Mr David Griffiths to the Northern Region with specific reference to visits to Ranville War Cemetery and St. Sever Communal Cemetery Extension at Rouen, the Area Office in the Albert Area, the South African Memorial at Delville Wood Cemetery, Bapaume Australian Cemetery, Faubourg d’Amiens Cemetery, Neuve Chapelle Indian Memorial, Le Touret Memorial, Ploegsteert Memorial, the Belgian Area Office and Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial; distribution of the 43rd Annual Report of the Commission among members; report that the Cross of Sacrifice had been erected at Salisbury Cemetery (now known as Harare (Pioneer) Cemetery).

Mr Louis de Soissons, CVO, OBE, RA, FRIBA
The death of Mr Louis de Soissons, former Principal Architect for the Commission, was reported.

Kenya Agency – Instrument of Agency
Announcement that Mr Ronald Ngala, Minister for Constitutional Affairs and Leader of the House, had agreed to become the Commission’s Agency in Kenya.

Halifax (Stoney Royd) Cemetery, Yorkshire
Approval of the proposed commemoration of 14 unmaintainable graves in Halifax (Stoney Royd) Cemetery by the erection of a memorial with a suitable inscription at the rear of the Cross of Sacrifice in the cemetery.

43rd Annual Report of the Commission – Statement of Accounts for the Year Ended 31st March 1962 Summary of Receipts and Payments and details of the statements of expenditure on First World War graves, Second World War graves and both World Wars together; adoption of the Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31st March 1962.

Membership of the Finance Committee
Appointment of Admiral Sir Guy Grantham as a Member of the Finance Committee.

Commonwealth-Foreign Joint Committees
Appointment of His Excellency Sir John Ward, United Kingdom Ambassador at Rome, and His Excellency Mr Jules Leger, Canadian Ambassador at Rome, as Commonwealth Honorary Members and Admiral Sir Guy Grantham as Commonwealth Official Member of the Commonwealth-Italian Joint Committee; appoint of Admiral Sir Guy Grantham as Commonwealth Official Member of the Commonwealth-Belgian Joint Committee; appointment of Mr A. B. Roger, First Secretary, Canadian Embassy in Copenhagen, as Commonwealth Member of the Commonwealth-Danish Joint Committee.

The Thiepval Memorial – Layout of the site
Approval of the sketch design by Sir Edward Maufe for the development of the design of the Thiepval Memorial and Anglo-French Cemetery with details of the proposed layout and estimates of expenditure.

Maintenance of Battle Exploit (Divisional and Regimental) Memorials on an Agency basis – Purchase of Stock
Financial arrangements for the maintenance of Battle Exploit (Divisional and Regimental) Memorials on an Agency basis.

General Notes
Details of ceremonies commemorating the Battle of Britain and showings of the Commission’s film in the United Kingdom and Netherlands; information concerning the forthcoming annual Gardeners’ Service in Westminster Abbey, which was to be held around the Tomb of the Unknown Warrior.

Remembrance Day Broadcast
Mentions that the Chairman had been invited to make the usual broadcast on Remembrance Day in the BBC Home and General Overseas Services for 10.25am just before the ceremony at the Cenotaph was broadcast.

Admiral Sir John Edelsten, GCB, GCVO, CBE
Agreement that a letter of thanks would be sent to Admiral Sir John Edelsten, former Member of the Commission.

General Sir John Crocker GCB KBE DSO MC (Vice-Chairman of the Commission)
Mr H. F. Clark (Representing the High Commissioner for Canada)
Mr P. A. K. Manton (Representing the High Commissioner for Australia)
Mr R. L. Jermyn (Representing the High Commissioner for South Africa)
Major S. P. Barua (Representing the High Commissioner for India)
Mr D. K. Malone MBE (Representing the Secretary of State for the Colonies)
The Rt. Hon. Lord Spens KBE
Sir Arthur Rucker KCMG CB CBE
Air Marshal Sir Charles Guest KBE CB
Mr John Hogg TD
Mr David Griffiths MP
Admiral Sir Guy Grantham GCB CBE DSO

Mr W. J. Chalmers CBE (Director-General)

Sir Edward Maufe RA FRIBA (Chief Architect and Artistic Adviser)

Also in attendance:
Mr W. Wynne Mason MC ((Assistant Secretary) Director of External Relations and Records)
Mr A. K. Pallot ((Assistant Secretary) Director of Finance and Establishments)
Major-General J. F. D. Steedman CBE MC (Director of Works)
Mr H. L. Simmons LLB (Legal Adviser and Solicitor)
Mr P. J. Cook
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items