Unique IDCWGC/2/2/1/421
File NumberCM 3/1/89
TitleCOMMISSION MEETING NO.421 - January 1959


DescriptionMinutes of the 421st Meeting of the Commission
Content NoteTopics covered:

Matters arising from the Minutes of the 420th Meeting
Condolences conveyed to Lady Higginson following the death of Brigadier Frank Higginson; purchase of a site for the construction of the Area Offices in Rome.

Account of visit by HRH The Duke of Gloucester, the Commission’s President, to Addis Ababa War Cemetery, Asmara War Cemetery and Hargeisa War Cemetery.

Appointment of Mr Gordon Freeth as Head of the Anzac Agency following the departure of Mr Alan Fairhall, Australian Minister of the Interior since 1956.

Appointment of Allen Brown as Deputy High Commissioner for Australia in London following the departure of Edwin McCarthy, who was taking the post of Australian Ambassador at The Hague.

Announcement regarding the appointment of Mr Harding, Chief Horticultural Officer of the Commission, as an Officer of the Order of the British Empire; appointment of Mr Laing, former Officer in Charge of Arrangements for Ceremonies, as Member of the Royal Victorian Order; awarding of the British Empire Medal to Mr Lewin, Caretaker at Heliopolis War Cemetery.

Report of the 465th Meeting of the Finance Committee
Maintenance of Ghissignies British Cemetery under contract with Entreprise Reynes; appointment of twelve gardening staff members to the Commission’s Permanent Maintenance Staff; erection of a new fence around Rangoon War Cemetery; construction of quarters for a gardener at Thanbyuzayat War Cemetery; binding and provision of the three parts of Volume III of “Their Name Liveth”.

Joint Committees
Appointment of John Hogg, TD, as Commonwealth Official Member to the Commonwealth-Netherlands and Commonwealth-French Joint Committees; appointment of Mr R. A. Peachey, Counsellor at the Australian Embassy, Bangkok, as Commonwealth Member to the Commonwealth-Thailand Joint Committee; appointment of Dottore Carlo Marchiori, Minister Plenipotentiary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as Italian Official Member to the Commonwealth-Italian Joint Committee.

Unmaintainable Graves in Manchester General Cemetery
Approval of the proposed removal of five Commission headstones from unmaintainable First World War graves in the Church Public Graves Section of Manchester General Cemetery and commemoration of the six casualties buried therein by a tablet that was to be erected at the entrance of the cemetery.

Unmaintainable Graves in Openshaw (St. Barnabas) Churchyard, Lancashire
Approval of the proposed removal of Commission headstones from eleven unmaintainable First World War graves in Openshaw (St. Barnabas) Churchyard, Lancashire, and commemoration of the casualties on a tablet erected near the Cross of Sacrifice in Manchester (Phillips Park) Cemetery.

Wilhelma Indian Cemetery, Israel
Removal and transfer of 13 Hindu and 11 Muslim Commonwealth war graves from Wilhelma Indian Cemetery, Israel, to Ramleh War Cemetery.

Examination of Revised Sketch Design for Memorial Construction: The Nigeria Memorial, Lagos, Southern Region - Approval of the revised sketch design by R. Hobday, ARIBA, for the Nigeria Memorial, Lagos, owing to changes in the development plan for the area.

General Notes
Considerations for the revision of the Commission’s film; update regarding the publication of the 39th Annual Report of the Commission; brief account of visit by Mr Wynne Mason, Assistant Secretary (External Relations), to Gambia, Sierra Leone, Ghana and Nigeria, as well as graves and memorials in West Africa.

General Sir John Crocker GCB KBE DSO MC (Vice-Chairman of the Commission)
Campbell Moodie (Representing the High Commission for Canada)
H. Hillebrand (Representing the High Commissioner for South Africa)
Lieutenant Colonel M. S. Chatterjee MC (Representing the High Commissioner for India)
Captain S. M. Akhtar (Representing the High Commissioner for Pakistan)
S. H. Field (Representing the Secretary of State for the Colonies)
The Right Hon. Sir Patrick Spens KBE GC MP
Admiral Sir John Edelsten GCB GCVO CBE
Air Marshal Sir Charles Guest KBE CB
John Hogg TD

W. J. Chalmers CBE

Also in attendance:
A. K. Pallot (Assistant Secretary (Finance and Establishments))
Major-General J. F. D. Stedman CBE MC (Director of Works)
H. L. Simmons LLB (Legal Adviser)
W. F. W. Harding BSC (Chief Horticultural Officer)
P. N. Dolan (External Relations Officer)
P. J. Cook
Extent1 file
CategoryMeeting Notes
ArchNotePlease note that the downloadable document is the final version of the Committee Meeting minutes. Additional information, including the verbatim minutes and subsidiary reports, may be available in the physical file.
Add to My Items